
Afrika II Clarifications 

Many thanks to James Bourke and his opponents for creating this useful list. My 

comments, if any, are preceded by DE. 

 

1. Garrison units may be moved by coastal shipping.  The fact that they have no 

movement allowance is irrelevant here.  Shipping a garrison unit incurs a coastal shipping 

cost like any other unit. 

 

2. All four Tobruk hexes are fortification hexes (including the port hex itself—note the 

southeast corner has the fortification graphic).  Therefore, per Afrika 2 rule 1.6, none of 

these hexes are eligible for a box.  Remember that defenders receive the fortification 

bonus only if all attackers are attacking through a fortified hexside. 

 

3. Units moved from the restriction box to Mersa Matruh do not consume port capacity at 

Mersa Matruh.  Per the designer's notes, these units are already in Egypt. 

 

4. A stack may violate SCS rule 9.1c and 9.1d in order to avoid an overstack situation.  

SCS rule 9.1b cannot be violated.  The defender must attempt to harmonize all the retreat 

requirements while retreating, and may need to split the stack to keep as many units as 

possible from retreating into an EZOC. 

 

5. Afrika 2 rules require that the first retreat result be taken as a retreat, but any retreat 

that is blocked due to enemy units or terrain still requires conversion to step losses, per 

the series rules. 

 

6. Part of rule 3.2a is superfluous.  Rule 1.7 makes it clear that CW units may not enter 

these boxes.  Therefore, there is no purpose in using air points there. 

 

7. Oases can only supply units within the oasis hex.  They are not considered "Supply 

points" and do not affect distant units in any way, or allow for replacements.  While they 

can't be considered supply sources, a retreating unit may retreat toward an Oasis if no 

other option is available. 

 

8. For the purpose of a retreat, "Supply sources" include the western map edge (Tripoli), 

any friendly-controlled port, and Alexandria.  Supply Points are not Supply Sources. 

 

9. Stacking is not enforced at the end of the exploitation phase.  Yes, this allows units to 

overstack during the opposing players turn.  Yes, this allows for giant stacks with huge 

defensive values.  There is no penalty for this unless the opposing player manages to 

surround the stack or incur a combat result involving a retreat.   

 

10. Rommel and O'Connor are free to use "storch" movement once per PHASE.  So it is 

expected that they may jump around to several stacks during a single player's turn.  The 

rules allow for many interesting combinations of movement and it is ok for Rommel and 

O'Connor to move all over the mapboard using legal moves each turn.  Remember that 

each turn represents one month. 



 

11. Out of Supply effects, including step losses, apply immediately and again each 

following turn as long as the out of supply condition exists. 

 

12. Despite the fact that the LRDG unit disregards EZOCs, it does have a ZOC of its 

own.  Since it pays no movement penalty for EZOCs, it is ok to move it in the exploit 

phase even if it starts the phase within an EZOC (it ignores series rule 11.0b).  The 

LRDG is able to capture ports and SPs and can attack like any other unit. 

 

13. The rules state that the CW player may take units from the restriction box at will 

during any CW reinforcement phase, but do not specify exactly when this decision must 

be made.  The CW player must decide on early releases prior to rolling for variable 

reinforcements.  Variable reinforcements CAN be used to bring a unit to full strength the 

same turn it was an early release. 

 

14. Overruns cannot be made up or down escarpments, or into mountain hexes, as road 

movement cannot be used to allow an overrun.  Similarly, Armor cannot overrun into a 

salt marsh hex, even if there is a road that normally allows movement into that hex.  Per 

the rules, overruns can only be made when non-road movement into the target hex costs 

2MP or less. 

 

15. Neither friendly units nor their zones of control negate enemy ZOCs for the purpose 

of retreat. 

 

16. Handle step losses due to combat and step losses due to retreat separately.  Do not 

apply series rule 8.0 to retreats.  All step losses due to a retreat can be freely assigned by 

the stack's owner. 

 

17. Units adjacent to SPs can be replaced, even if an impassable hexside is in the way. 

 

18. A player can eliminate any SPs he wants during the supply phase.  While the rules 

say "There is no provision for destroying oneís own SPs", this is misleading because SPs 

can be consumed during the supply phase even if there are no nearby units. 

 

19. Everything that has an attack or defense point counts for stacking, including garrison 

and artillery units. 

 

20. Regarding the fog of war rule and inspecting stacks, it is not necessary for an attacker 

or defender to show their stacks during combat.  They can simply compute the total for 

the stack and provide that to the opponent.  Shifts must be specified (e.g. you can't say "I 

have three shifts" without saying exactly what the shifts are).  The fog of war rules are 

designed to keep the game interesting.  It's more fun if you don't know exactly what is 

under that top unit. 

 



21. The 1 Lib and 2 Lib italian units do not qualify as a division for divisional integrity 

purposes.  Divisional integrity is only possible when all units have the same Higher 

Attachment, which is always shown on the right side of the counter.   

 

22. If Rommel starts in a stack of units during the exploit phase, those units may split 

away from Rommel and continue as exploit-capable units for the remainder of that phase. 

 

23. Optional Rule: Dean mentioned an optional rule to restrict axis shipping, which 

would allow for a compass-like offensive.  I assume this is something that limits 

Benghazi's supply for the first few turns? 

 

DE: Allow no unit to ship out of the Tripoli Box until the Germans arrive on Turn 6. This 

keeps the player from using historical hingsight to build Benghazi into a fortress before 

the CW can get there. 

 

24. Units in the Tripoli connecting box CANNOT trace supply to Tripoli.  SPs must be 

present in the connecting box itself to supply units in that box.  Likewise, an SP on the 

western map edge CANNOT supply units in the connecting box, and an SP in the 

connecting box cannot supply a unit on the western map edge. 

 

25. Artillery units can lend support to any number of actions in a phase. 

 

DE: No, each artillery unit can support only one combat per phase. 

 

26. Fortifications protect units within the fortification from attacks made through a 

fortified hexside.  They can never protect units that are not in a fortified hex, and cannot 

protect units attacked through an unfortified hexside.  Fortifications are one way only. 

 

27. Rommel has no effect within Tripoli or the connecting box, and cannot be used to 

overstack with all the units in the box, and thereby allow them all to move in the exploit 

phase. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



28. Afrika 2 rule 6.2c allows for overrun by units that are not exploit-capable.  This 

means units stacked with O'Connor or Rommel can conduct overruns during the regular 

movement phase, even if those units are not exploit-capable. 

 

DE: Correct, as well as those that are normally capable but are currently in an EZOC. 

 

29. A given stack must complete its move before any other stack may move.  If a stack 

splits, the player may choose which portion of the original stack will complete its move 

first, but all stacks split from the original stack must complete their moves before any 

other stack can move.   

 

30.   Afrika 2 rule 6.2c says "The stack can conduct overruns even if it is in an EZOC".  

Replace "it is in" with "begins a movement phase in". 

 

DE: Correct.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



5-02 (2nd edition) Afrika (24 Apr 08) 

1.     On Turn 6 CW Reinforcements, the listing for 3-5-6 Ind Inf Bde (3) s/b 
3-5-8 Ind Inf Bde (3). 

2.    2.7 mentions 0-1-0 rated Garrison units. Garrison units come in a 
number of different strengths, what matters is that they have “Gar” in 
their unit symbol. The immobile artillery unit in Tobruk is not a garrison 
unit (and must be supplied). 

3.    TEC note (a) applies Ax1/3 in the case of a River (the UP/Down 
entries apply to Escarpments). 

4.    Units with a MA of 0 are destroyed if they are forced to retreat. 

5.    Allied incoming SPs arrive at Allied controlled ports up to their current 
capacity. 

6.    For withdrawal purposes, Armor means armor (only). 

7.    Mussolini Rule: If a CW unit enters Libya, the Mussolini rule is waived 
for the remainder of the game. 

8.    The O’Connor options must be agreed to by both players. 

9.    For EZOCs, Negate means negate (no MP cost) when it comes to 
supply range calculation and truck point movement of SPs. 

10. On the Turn 2 CW Reinforcements, the 3-5-7 Ind Inf Bde (14) is a 
normal reinforcement and is not going to the Restriction Box. 

11.  The Italian player can violate the ‘must retreat one hex’ rule if the 
retreat would cause him to violate his Mussolini Line unit requirements. 
He can take additional step losses in place to avoid infliction of a sudden 
death win for the CW player.  

12.   While artillery can advance after combat, they can only advance in 
ways they could have moved in regular movement.  

13.   Suggested Optional for the Campaign Game and Compass 
Offensive: The Italain units in Tripoli and any new reinforcements going 
there must remain in the Tripoli Box until the first Germans arrive. 

14.   In scenario 8.6, delete the Artillery unit setting up in B30.10. It is in 
excess of what should be available 


